January 2023: The Kansas Legislature put forward Senate Bill 111 (SB 111), a proposal aimed at implementing statewide licensure for massage therapists. If enacted, a Board of Massage Therapy would be created under the Board of Healing Arts to oversee the regulation and licensure of massage therapists in Kansas. This Kansas legislation on massage therapy is something to closely watch.

Upon the bill’s passage, starting September 1, 2024, it would be illegal for unlicensed individuals to present themselves as licensed massage therapists or practice massage therapy. This would put an end to the current fragmented regulatory landscape for massage practitioners.

Grandfathering Clause

Grandfathering Clause SB 111 includes a generous grandfathering provision. Existing massage therapists would qualify for a license if they meet one of the following criteria:

  • Completed a minimum of 625 hours of massage therapy instruction at an out-of-state massage school
  • Completed at least 300 hours of massage therapy training within the three years preceding a license application
  • Practiced massage therapy for a minimum of three years
  • Been an active member in good standing for at least one year of a professional massage or bodywork therapy association (ABMP membership fulfills this requirement)
  • Passed a national examination approved by the Board that meets specific criteria


Licensure Requirements If SB 111 becomes law, new massage therapy license applicants must fulfill the following requirements:

  • Be 18 years or older with a high school degree and no disqualifying conduct on record
  • Provide proof of 625 hours of massage therapy education
  • Pass a national exam
  • Provide proof of liability insurance (ABMP membership meets this requirement)
  • Complete fingerprinting and undergo a state and national criminal background check

Fees and Renewals

License Renewals and Fees Should SB 111 be enacted, applicants would need to submit an initial license application for their first two-year massage therapy license. The maximum cost for the initial application is $80. License renewal would be required every two years, with the fee not exceeding $75. After the first license renewal, 24 hours of continuing education credits must be completed during each two-year period.

Previous attempts to establish massage therapy licensing in Kansas have been unsuccessful. ABMP will keep a close watch on the progress of SB 111. If supporting testimony for statewide licensure is recommended, ABMP will notify members with further information. This is important legislation on massage therapy in Lawrence Kansas.

Do you need a massage therapy license in Lawrence Kansas?

Kansas is one of a few states in the country that does not license or regulate the profession of massage therapy – until September 1, 2024. The city of Lawrence seeks to protect the public health, safety and welfare of citizens, and massage therapy practitioners in the community by setting standards and regulations to practice. Please contact us if you have any questions on massage therapy in Lawrence Kansas.

Mon-Sat: 10 am – 7 pmSunday: Closed

Sign up for email &
save on your first order

Bliss Bodyworks © 2024. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy